2019 Member Recognition and Annual Business Meeting Minutes Saturday, June 1, 2019, 1:30p Loews Philadelphia

Member Recognition

President Edward Krinsky welcomed attendees and guests.

Jules Bloch, Chair, Committee on New Member Orientation, introduced the following new members, all of whom spoke to the membership and expressed their thanks to the Academy:

Richard Bales Lisa C. Charles Keith D. Greenberg Doyle O'Connor Augustus Richardson

President Krinksy led the recognition of the following members. Those present received certificates and pins.

25 Year Members

*Present for the 2019 Annual Meeting

John B. Dorsey

Robert L. Douglas

William P. Hobgood*

Fredric R. Horowitz

Susan R. Meredith*

Peter R. Meyers

Kathleen Miller*

William J. Miller, Jr.

Dennis E. Minni

John M. Moreau

Elliot Newman

William W. Petrie

Stephen J. Rosen*

Franklin Silver

Barry Winograd*

40 Year Members

*Present for the 2019 Annual Meeting

Edward P. Archer

James R. Beilstein

C. Chester Brisco

Thomas F. Carey

Hyman Cohen

Donald P. Crane

Irwin J. Dean, Jr.

George E. Marshall, Jr.

David P. Twomey

Honorary Life Member

*Presentfor the 2019 Annual Meeting

Barbara Zausner*

After a short break, the Business Meeting commenced with only members present.

Business Meeting

President Krinsky made brief welcoming remarks to the membership.

EST Walt De Treux recognized the following members who has died since the last Annual Meeting:

Member Deaths (since last Annual Meeting)

First	Middle	Last	End Date*
William	H.	Dorsey	5/14/2018
Bernard		Marcus	6/2/2018
Rolf		Valtin	8/1/2018
Felicity		Briggs	9/9/2018
Donald	F.	Sugerman	9/18/2018
Paul	J.	Dorr	9/21/2018
Arthur	T.	Jacobs	10/17/2018
Barry	C.	Brown	10/24/2018
Arthur	A.	Malinowski	11/5/2018
Stanley	H.	Sergent	11/28/2018
James	L.	Stern	12/27/2018

First	Middle	Last	End Date*
Richard		Zaiger	2/4/2019
Thomas	J.	Erbs	3/19/2019
Daniel	M.	Winograd	3/20/2019

^{*}The End Date is when it was entered into the database. Sometimes it is the actual date of the person's death, but sometimes it is the date that the NAA found out about the death.

De Treux presented the following statistics related to NAA business:

a) 2019 Annual Meeting Attendance

Total – 221

Members – 149 Nonmembers (12 sponsored) – 72

Employment Arb Workshop – 31 President's Dinner – 53 Spouses - 65

b) Membership

	2019	2018
Total membership	604	598
Regular (full dues)	456	455
A-1 (half dues)	4	4
A-2 (zero dues)	102	95
B (half dues)	34	34
Honorary (zero dues)	8	10

c) Financials (as of 5/20/19)

NAA Accounts:

	<u>2019</u>	<u> 2018</u>
Checking	\$ 98,892	\$ 59,877
Investment Account (non-reserve)	\$ 641,176	\$ 619,291
Reserve Funds	\$1,065,375	\$1,042,441
LRF Accounts	\$484,822	\$486,150
REF Accounts	\$555,447	\$533,532

De Treux informed the members of the locale for future meetings: 2019 FEC (Savannah, September 20-22), 2020 Annual (Denver, May 6-9), 2021 Annual (Marina del Ray Marriott, April 21-24), 2022 Annual (TBD, currently looking at Toronto). He noted that the BOG will be required to meet in Fall 2020 for a BOG meeting, and the NAA is currently considering Atlantic City in October to coincide with the FMCS Arbitration Symposium that is co-sponsored by 5 NAA Regions.

De Treux explained that BNA had issued a notice of termination of its contracts with NAA for the 2019 and 2020 Proceedings, the Supplement to 50 Years in the World of Work, and the Common Law of the Workplace. After negotiation, BNA agreed to edit and produce a pdf version of the 2019 and 2020 Proceedings. The NAA will receive a \$2000 royalty payment for those works. The recently-formed Future of the Proceedings Committee will make recommendations as to the Proceedings or some similar publication for 2021 and beyond.

Krinsky noted that James J. Odom, Jr. was presented with the David A. Petersen Award at the Presidential Luncheon.

Krinsky explained the BOG's recommendation of approval of a change to Article II, Section 1 of the Constitution. The amendment is in bold:

Article II

Section 1. The purposes for which the Academy is formed are: To establish and foster the highest standards of integrity, competence, honor, and character among those engaged in the arbitration of labor-management disputes on a professional basis, including those who as a part of their professional practice hold hearings and issue written decisions in other types of workplace disputes; to secure the acceptance of and adherence to the Code of Professional Responsibility for Arbitrators of Labor-Management Disputes prepared by the National Academy of Arbitrators, the American Arbitration Association and the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, or of any amendment or changes which may be hereafter made thereto; to promote the study and understanding of the arbitration of labor-management disputes, other collectively bargained dispute resolution arrangements, and procedures used to resolve other types of workplace disputes; to encourage friendly association among the members of the profession; to cooperate with other organizations, institutions and learned societies interested in labor-management and employment relations, and to do any and all things which shall be appropriate in the furtherance of these purposes. (As amended April 29, 1975, June 1, 1993, and May 24, 2008).

A motion was made and seconded to approve the amendment. During discussion, an amendment was offered to change "other.." to "including...". The motion was made, seconded, and defeated by voice vote. An amendment was offered to delete "procedures used to resolve..types of." The motion was made, seconded, and defeated by voice vote. A vote on the original amendment was taken, and the amendment was approved by voice vote.

CPRG Chair Susan Stewart explained the Committee's report submitted to the membership and the BOG.

Elizabeth Wesman, Chair of the Committee on Intra-Organizational Grievances, informed the membership of the goals of the Committee and its focus on informal resolution and mediation of any internal grievances.

2019 FEC Program Chair Jeanne Vonhof reported on the progress of the 2019 FEC program and its highlights.

2020 Annual Meeting Program Chair Dan Zeiser and Host Chair Kathy Eisenmenger offered progress reports and highlights on the next Annual Meeting.

Nominating Committee Chair Richard Adelman reminded members of the candidates for NAA office nominated at the 2018 FEC. After no further nominations were made from the floor, a motion to elect the slate was made, seconded, and approved by voice vote. The slate included: Dan Nielsen (President-Elect); Paula Knopf and Homer LaRue (Vice-President – first year); Andrew Strongin, Gord Luborsky, Jeanne Charles Wood, and Sarah Garraty.

Krinsky passed the gavel to **President Barry Winograd,** who, in turn, presented a plaque to Krinsky expressing appreciation for his service to the NAA. Winograd made brief remarks to the membership on the goals for the next year.

A motion to adjourn was made, seconded, and approved.