2018 NAA Member Recogntion and Annual Business Meeting Minutes Saturday, May 26, 2018 Vancouver, BC, Canada

President Kathy Miller welcomed the membership to Vancouver.

New Orientation Committee Chair Jules Bloch introduced new members Jared Kasher, William Hartsfield, Jasbir Parmar, Paul Roose, and Christine Schmidt. The new members each addressed the membership. Patrick Westerkampf attended the New Member Orientation, but was unable to stay for the business meeting. He will address the membership in Austin at the 2018 FEC.

President Miller recognized the new 25-year and 40-year members.

After a short recess, President Miller opened the 2018 Business Meeting.

The members stood for a moment of silence to honor the NAA members who had passed away since the last business meeting.

EST De Treux recognized the work of Operation Center employees Katie Griffin and Suzanne Kelley and the accomplishments of President Miller during a difficult year.

De Treux reported on the Membership totals and the Financial status of the NAA, LRF, and REF. He emphasized that the meetings currently do not pay for themselves as anticipated in each year's budget. He also noted that dues cover all governance expenses, except for the Chronicle and the Proceedings. He advised that funds may have to be transferred from the investment accounts to subsidize the 2018 and 2019 meetings. He also gave a report on technological and other changes to the Operation Center and the meeting registration, dues, and REF donation collection systems.

President Miller awarded the **David A. Petersen Service Award** to Suzanne Kelley and Katie Griffin. Suzanne thanked President Miller and the membership.

CPRG Chair Dan Nielsen explained the following amendment to Article IV, Section 2(e)(ii) of the By-Laws: "(ii) If the discipline determined to be appropriate by the Hearing Officer is either advice or censure reprimand, such decision shall be conveyed to both the charged member and the complainant by the Chair of the Committee together with a copy of the report."

After a motion was made and seconded, the membership unanimously approved the By-Law amendment.

LRF Coordinator Sara Adler reported on the health of the LRF and advised that no assessment would be necessary for 2018-19.

REF President Catherine Harris reported on the activities of the REF and reminded members that a Silent Auction will take place at the 2019 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia.

2018 FEC Committee Member Phil LaPorte and Local Host Chair Beber Helburn reported on the progress of the upcoming FEC.

2019 Annual Meeting Program Committee Chair Bill McKee reported on plans for the meeting in Philadelphia.

Bloch Committee member Allen Ponak summarized the considerations of the Committee and explained the recommendations. The membership discussed the Report. David Vaughn called the members' attention to web-based planning sites that may negate the need for a professional meeting planner. Betsy Wesman noted that meeting planners will be paid by the hotel, not the NAA. Jules Bloch suggested coordination between Regional meetings and the NAA meeting and BOG meetings. George Fleischli asked if the registration fee structure will allow members to pay for just the members-only portion of the meeting. He was advised that such decisions have not yet been made. Alvin Goldman suggested rotating yearly the Annual Meeting and FEC. President Miller thanked the Bloch Committee for its efforts and thanked the membership for their input. She advised that the BOG would discuss and vote on the recommendations at its meeting later that day.

Nominating Committee Chair Jeffrey Tener called for the election of the 2018-19 slate headed by President-Elect Ed Krinsky. On motion and second, the membership unanimously elected the slate.

President Miller advised that President-elect David Petersen, who passed away in early 2018, would be installed and recognized as President for 2018 and that President-elect Ed Krinsky would assume the office of President for the full length of David's term. President Miller passed the gavel to David's wife, Angela Petersen, who thanked the members. Angela Petersen passed the gavel to President Krinsky. President Krinsky addressed the membership.

Nominating Committee Chair Jeffrey Tener announced the nomination and called for the election of Barry Winograd as President-Elect for 2018-19. On motion and second, the membership unanimously elected President-elect Winograd.

President Krinsky presented Past President Kathy Miller with a plaque and thanked her for her service.

The meeting adjourned.